The Coroners Court is made up of the Chief Coroner and up to 20 coroners, with support from the Coronial Services Unit at the Ministry of Justice.

Find out more about the Chief Coroner and coroners

Find out more about Coronial Services

The Coroners Court is governed by the Coroners Act 2006. The Coroners Act 2006:

  • appointed a Chief Coroner and up to 20 legally qualified full-time coroners 
  • set up the Coronial Services Unit within the Ministry of Justice
  • clarified the way coroners and other agencies investigate unexpected deaths 
  • made training across the country more consistent 
  • improved timeliness and standardised our procedures 
  • stipulated which deaths must be reported to the coroner 
  • ensured we recognise the cultural and spiritual needs of the dead person’s families 
  • improved ways of dealing with inquiries and inquests
  • gave the public better access to information.

This page was last updated: